Skip to content

Ian Rankin - The Beat Goes On (2nd Hand Hardback)

Original price £4.45 - Original price £4.45
Original price
£4.45 - £4.45
Current price £4.45
SKU B002279

The Complete Rebus Short Stories.

There is no detective like DI Rebus. Brilliant, irascible and endlessly frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, he has made the dark places of Edinburgh his comfort and his home for over two decades. From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable in 'Dead and Buried', right up to his dramatic - but as it turns out, not quite final - retirement in 'The Very Last Drop', we see one of the most compelling, brilliant and mesmeric characters of modern times in his every guise and very much in his element.

Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction's most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. In these gripping, fast-paced tales, the legendary Scottish detective investigates the sinister cases that are his specialty, including a gruesome student death, the brutal murder of a woman at the crux of a love triangle, an audacious jewel heist, suspicious happenings at a nursing home, and an ominous email that brings a family's darkest secrets to light.

The Beat Goes On combines much-loved classics with previously unpublished gems from other media, and includes two brand-new stories written specifically for this collection - 'The Passenger' and 'A Three-Pint Problem'.

This is the ultimate Ian Rankin treasure trove - a must-have book for aficionados and crime lovers as well as a superb introduction from anyone looking to experience DI John Rebus, and the dark and twist-filled crimes he has to investigate, for the very first time.

  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Hardback with Dust Jacket
  • Condition : As New 
  • Category : Fiction - Short Stories & Anthologies
  • Published : 2014 (Orion Books - 1st Edition, 7th Printing)
  • ISBN : 9781409151555
  • SKU : B002279
  • PPC : SP600gm
  • RRP : £19.99 (Unclipped)
  • Quantity Available : 1 only.
External Reviews

"An impressive collection of all Ian Rankin’s Rebus short fiction to date. A wealth of stories spanning the whole of Detective Inspector (although now back to a DS) Rebus’ career and a great way to while away the time until Even Dogs in the Wild (the twentieth full length Rebus book) arrives on Guy’s Fawkes night!" - Google Review.

" . . . the big thing - the constant draw - is the descriptions of the people and of the place . . ." - Goodreads Review.

The Author

For more than thirty years novelist Ian Rankin has entertained and gripped us with stories of the maverick Detective Inspector Rebus, whose daily grind involves tackling Edinburgh’s grim underbelly.

Featured Author . . . Ian Rankin