Skip to content

Stef Penney - Under A Pole Star (2nd Hand Paperback)

£4.45
SKU B002141
  • Format : Thick 2nd Hand Paperback
  • Condition : Good
  • Category : Fiction - Action, Adventure & Western
  • Published : 2016 (Quercus)
  • ISBN : 9781786481191
  • SKU : B002141
  • PPC : SP400gm
  • RRP : £7.99
  • Quantity Available : 1 only.

Shortlisted For The Costa Novel Award 2017.

Sometimes you have to travel to the farthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it . . .

A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Kristin Hannah, Sarah Perry, Donna Tartt and Barbara Kingsolver.

A whaler's daughter, Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve.

Years later, in 1892, determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland as a scientist at the head of a British expedition, defying the expectations of those who believe a woman has no place in that harsh world.

Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition. Jakob and Flora's paths cross. It is a fateful meeting, where passion and ambition collide and an irresistible attraction is born.

The violent extremes of the north obsess them both: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows, and the strange, maddening pull it exerts on the people trying to make their mark on its vast expanses - a pursuit of glory whose outcome will reverberate for years to come.

"The narration of place is fantastic and the story is gripping."

". . . it's hard to beat a well-researched novel about explorers in wild places." - Library Thing Reviews.

_______________________

No minimum order. Free UK delivery on orders of over £10.00. UK delivery only £1.00 per order on orders of under £10.00. International delivery charges detailed here.

Immediate dispatch, via Royal Mail, from Scotland. All books and other products are fully guaranteed and covered by our refund policy. #CampsieBooks