Skip to content

Carlos Ruiz Zafon - The Prisoner of Heaven (2nd Hand Hardback)

Original price £8.95 - Original price £8.95
Original price
£8.95 - £8.95
Current price £8.95
SKU B002153

The Cemetery of Forgotten Books #3

The Prisoner of Heaven is a 2011 book written by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. Originally published in Spanish, it was later translated to English by Lucia Graves. This is the third novel in the series "The Cemetery of Forgotten Books".

This book returns to the world of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books and the Sempere & Sons Bookshop.

It begins just before Christmas in Barcelona in 1957, one year after Daniel and Bea from The Shadow of The Wind have married. They now have a son, Julian, and are living with Daniel's father at Sempere & Sons. Fermin still works with them and is busy preparing for his wedding to Bernarda in the New Year. However something appears to be bothering him.

Daniel is alone in the shop one morning when a mysterious figure with a pronounced limp enters. He spots one of their most precious volumes that is kept locked in a glass cabinet, a beautiful and unique illustrated edition of The Count of Monte Christo.

Despite the fact that the stranger seems to care little for books, he wants to buy this expensive edition. Then, to Daniel's surprise, the man inscribes the book with the words 'To Fermin Romero de Torres, who came back from the dead and who holds the key to the future'. This visit leads back to a story of imprisonment, betrayal and the return of a deadly rival . . .

  • Format : Thick 2nd Hand Hardback with Dust Jacket
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Category : Fiction - Fiction - Uncategorised
  • Published : 2011 (Wiedenfeld & Nicolson, UK - 1st Edition, 1st Printing)
  • ISBN : 9780297868095
  • SKU : B002153
  • PPC : SP600gm
  • RRP : £16.99 (Unclipped)
  • Quantity Available : 1 only.

Scarce First Edition. Full Numberline.

External Reviews

"It would find it hard to believe that any reader who loved The Shadow of the Wind would not consider Fermìn as a favourite character. In the shadows and ashes of the city of the damned, Fermìn glows and shines like a beacon of hope and goodness. A wholly good and kind-hearted person who has a weakness for ladies and strong opinions on pretty much everything, his eloquent and really long ramblings are always sardonic, hilarious and pretty spot on." - Goodreads Review.

The Author

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the Spanish author of six novels, including the international phenomenon The Shadow of the Wind, and The Angel's Game.

Featured Author . . . Carlos Ruiz Zafon