Skip to content

George Mackay Brown - The Island of The Women & Other Stories (2nd Hand Paperback)

Original price £4.20 - Original price £4.20
Original price
£4.20 - £4.20
Current price £4.20
SKU B002229

The Island of the Women & Other Stories is George Mackay Brown's posthumously published collection of 6 short stories, released in 1998, two years after the author's death.

Like his previous collections, A Time to Keep and A Calendar of Love, this volume explores Brown's concerns with history, spirituality, legend and storytelling.

In the title story, Brown uses the famous Orcadian myth of the selkie, the seal-man.

The story Poet and Prince: A Fable, explores the role of the writer in society, a tale which begins in an unknown European state and concludes on Brown's beloved island.

  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Paperback
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Category : Fiction - Short Stories & Anthologies
  • Published : 1998 (This Edition 2006 - Polygon/Birlinn)
  • ISBN : 9781904598909
  • SKU : B002229
  • PPC : SP300gm
  • RRP : £8.99
  • Quantity Available : 1 only. 
External Reviews

"As ever with Mackay Brown, the Orkney master, the volume was alive with the sensuous music of his words and his deep connection with his Orkney home. One of the stories here states that Time "walks the islands in a coat of green," and it does seem that Time itself works as a character in these narratives. From the tiniest minutiae of everyday life, one is suddenly tossed into the whirlwind of mythic time, ages spinning by in seconds give a glimpse of a much larger tapestry on a loom of ever-weaving years. The rugged magic of the Orkneys abounds in each one of these tales. This collection is just gobsmackingly good." - Goodreads Review.

The Author

George Mackay Brown was a poet, author and dramatist, whose work has a distinctly Orcadian character. He is considered one of the great Scottish poets of the 20th century.