Skip to content


James Oswald - The Gathering Dark (2nd Hand Hardback)

SKU B002637
1 available
Original price £2.70 - Original price £2.70
Original price
£2.70 - £2.70
Current price £2.70

Inspector McLean #8

The Dead Demand Vengeance . . . 

A compelling novel in the bestselling Inspector McLean series.

A truck driver loses control in central Edinburgh, ploughing into a crowded bus stop and spilling his vehicle's toxic load. The consequences are devastating.

DI Tony McLean witnesses the carnage. Taking control of the investigation, he soon realises there is much that is deeply amiss - and everyone involved seems to have something to hide.

But as McLean struggles to uncover who caused the tragedy, a greater crisis develops: the new Chief Superintendent's son is missing, last seen in the area of the crash . . .

  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Hardback with Dust Jacket
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Category : Fiction - Crime & Mystery
  • Published : 2018 (Penguin Random House)
  • ISBN : 9780718183691
  • SKU : B002637
  • PPC : SP500gm
  • RRP : £12.99 (Unclipped)
  • Quantity Available : 1 only.
External Reviews

"This is a great and gripping read, with its compelling multiple threads in a narrative that carries a growing sense of menace and darkness whilst incorporating the supernatural without verging on the ridiculous. Sadly, the desperately dark ending will have McLean having to bear extra burdens for the future. Highly recommended series!"

"What an exceptional series this is, one of my very favourites, and this is a fine addition to it. But blimey is it dark . . ."

"Detective Inspector Tony McLean is one of the most original and likeable detectives in crime fiction and I always enjoy getting re-acquainted with him and his usual sidekicks: Grumpy Bob Laird, Janie Harrison, Jayne McIntyre, Charles Duguid, Madame Rose and, not forgetting, Mrs McCutcheon’s Cat."

- Goodreads Reviews.

'Oswald easily outstrips the formulaic work of bigger names' - The Guardian.

The Author
James Oswald is the author of the Sunday Times bestselling Inspector McLean series of detective mysteries. The first two of these, Natural Causes and The Book of Souls were both short-listed for the prestigious CWA Debut Dagger Award. Set in an Edinburgh not so different to the one we all know, Detective Inspector Tony McLean is the unlucky policeman who can see beneath the surface of ordinary criminal life to the dark, menacing evil that lurks beneath.

Categories, Collections, Filters & Keywords : Second Hand Books Keywords_Scottish Fiction Keywords_Crime & Mystery Hardback with Dust Jacket Hardback Fiction Crime & Mystery Book Type & Condition_Second Hand Books Book Type & Condition_Second Hand - Very Good Book Format_Hardback All Books