Skip to content

Jessie Burton - The Miniaturist (Options Available)

£3.95
SKU B000731-1-PB
Options Available (Please Select)

Details

  • Category : Fiction - Modern Classics

. . . please select/choose your book using the rectangular buttons - the cover picture, price & SKU will alter automatically.

  • Option 1 :
  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Paperback
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Published : 2017 (Picador)
  • ISBN : 9781509857487
  • SKU : B000731-1-PB
  • PPC : SP400gm
  • RRP : £8.99
  • Quantity Available : 2.
  • Option 2 :
  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Hardback
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Published : 2014 (Picador - 1st Edition)
  • ISBN : 9781447250890
  • SKU : B000731-2-HB
  • PPC : SP600gm
  • RRP : £8.99
  • Quantity Available : 2.

Synopsis

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ."

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office - leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist - an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

External Reviews

"Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth." - Goodreads.

"A terrific novel: compelling cast, gripping plot, writing to savour" - Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall.

"A remarkable debut - complex, involving and deeply atmospheric."- Deborah Moggach, author of Tulip Fever.

Delivery

No minimum order. UK Orders Under £10.00 - Only £1.00 per Order. UK Orders Over £10.00 - Free Delivery. UK Delivery Time 2-4 Days. Also International delivery - charges detailed here.

Immediate dispatch, via Royal Mail, from Scotland. All books and other products are fully guaranteed and covered by our refund policy. #CampsieBooks