Skip to content

Jessie Burton - The Miniaturist (Options Available)

£2.70
SKU B000731-1
Options Available (Please Select)
Synopsis

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ."

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office - leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist - an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Details & Options

Choice of 2 . . . please select/choose your book using the rectangular buttons - the cover picture, price & SKU will alter automatically.

  • Option 1 : Paperback
  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Paperback
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Category : Fiction - Modern Classics
  • Published : 2017 (Picador)
  • ISBN : 9781509857487
  • SKU : B000731-1
  • PPC : SP400gm
  • RRP : £8.99
  • Quantity Available : 2.
  • Option 2 : Hardback
  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Hardback
  • Condition : Very Good
  • Category : Fiction - Modern Classics
  • Published : 2014 (Picador - 1st Edition)
  • ISBN : 9781447250890
  • SKU : B000731-2
  • PPC : SP600gm
  • RRP : £8.99
  • Quantity Available : 2.
    External Reviews

    "Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth." - Goodreads.

    "A terrific novel: compelling cast, gripping plot, writing to savour" - Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall.

    "A remarkable debut - complex, involving and deeply atmospheric."- Deborah Moggach, author of Tulip Fever.

    The Author

    Jessie Burton is the author of the Sunday Times number one and New York Times bestsellers The Miniaturist and The Muse, and the children's book The Restless Girls.

    In its year of publication The Miniaturist sold over a million copies, and in 2017 it was adapted into a major TV series for BBC One. Her novels have been translated into thirty-eight languages, and she is a regular essay writer for newspapers and magazines. She lives in London.