Skip to content

Leonard Cohen - Field Commander Cohen (Tour of 1979) (2nd Hand CD)

SKU CD000037
  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand CD
  • Condition : As New
  • Category : Music - CD's / Rock
  • Released : 2000
  • Label / Number : Columbia / COL 501225 2
  • SKU : CD000037
  • PPC : LL90gm
  • Quantity Available : 1 only.

The songs here are collected from two 1979 concerts at London's Hammersmith Odeon and Brighton's Dome Theatre.

At that time, Cohen was touring in the wake of his Phil Spector produced Death Of A Ladies Man album and was, to judge by the performances collected here, on fine form. His voice had not quite plummeted to the crockery-rattling depths captured on I'm Your Man (indeed, on "Memories", he positively yelps), and the backing band, including Jennifer Warnes on backing vocals, are terrific throughout.

"The songs, of course, are impeccable, including "Lover Lover Lover", "Bird On A Wire", "So Long, Marianne" and "Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye". - Andrew Mueller

Tracklist :

1 Field Commander Cohen 4:25
2 The Window 5:51
3 The Smokey Life 5:34
4 The Gypsy's Wife 5:20
5 Lover Lover Lover 6:31
6 Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye 4:04
7 The Stranger Song 4:55
8 The Guests 6:05
9 Memories 4:38
10 Why Don't You Try 3:43
11 Bird On The Wire 5:10
12 So Long, Marianne 6:44


No minimum order. Free UK delivery on orders of over £10.00. UK delivery only £1.00 per order on orders of under £10.00. International delivery charges detailed here.

Immediate dispatch, via Royal Mail, from Scotland. All books and other products are fully guaranteed and covered by our refund policy. #CampsieBooks