Skip to content

Robert Douglas - Somewhere To Lay My Head (2nd Hand Hardback)

Original price £4.20 - Original price £4.20
Original price
£4.20 - £4.20
Current price £4.20
SKU B001785

The book is the 2nd autobiography of a Glaswegian called Robert Douglas. In the first Night Song of The Last Tram we left Robert a long way from home, a sixteen-year-old recruit in the RAF.

Now, we follow his escape from the Forces (until National Service a few years later!), his return to Glasgow and life down the pit.

Once more, Robert's fantastic memory for people, places and anecdotes, combined with an ear for individual voices and the brilliant ability to evoke a bygone sense of community, will enchant his readers and sometimes appal them with the brutality of conditions he experienced.

  • Format : Standard 2nd Hand Hardback with Dust Jacket
  • Condition : Good (Written Gift Inscription)
  • Category : Non-Fiction - Autobiography & Biography
  • Published : 2006 (Hodder & Stoughton - 1st Edition / 2nd Printing)
  • ISBN : 9780340898420
  • SKU : B001785
  • PPC : SP520gm
  • RRP : £14.99 (Unclipped)
  • Quantity Available : 1 only.
External Reviews

"Having read 'Night Song of The Last Tram' by Robert Douglas, the 1st in this series. I am working my way through the sequels to that wonderful book. 'Somewhere to Lay my Head' is the 2nd book. It covers his life from leaving the Boys RAF through his National Service to becoming a Prison Officer. I found his writing to be engaging & honest, even when showing himself in a not so good light. He is a natural story teller, capturing the sights, sounds & smells of times gone by. I was captivated . . . very much recommended." - Ebay Review.

"So glad I found this author. His books so descriptive and easy to read. Loved hearing about his single life and married life and variety of jobs. His ma would be so proud of him!" - Goodreads Review.

The Author

Douglas Robert was 66 when his first volume of memoirs, Night Song of the Last Tram, was published in 2005. The first volume covered his childhood in Glasgow, and its sequel, Somewhere to Lay My Head, discussed his time in the RAF. The final volume in the series, At Her Majesty’s Pleasure, covered his work as a prison officer. After his memoirs were published, Douglas turned to fiction with the novels Whose Turn for the Stairs? and Staying On Past the Terminus, set in a fictional Glasgow tenement in Maryhill.